JHSC Certification

Top 3 things to know about JHSC Certification training in Ontario

1. Under the Occupational Health and Safety Act in Ontario, most workplaces with 20 or more employees must have a Joint Health and Safety Committee (JHSC).

At least one committee member represents workers and one committee member represents the employer; each must possess JHSC certification. This is not a new requirement; however there are changes to what the certification process looks like. (Smaller workplaces with 6 to 19 workers are legally required to have a worker Health and Safety Representative.)

2. Under the new standard, there are three JHSC Certification Courses: Part 1, Part 2 and Refresher training.

a. JHSC Certification Training Part 1 is an instructor-led course (virtual or in-person), three days in length and includes such topics as occupational health and safety law, rights, duties and responsibilities of the workplace parties, along with duties and responsibilities of JHSC members. This course is also available in French and self-paced e-learning (English).
OWWCO Continuing Education Units (CEUs):
The WSN JHSC Certification Part 1 (OWWCO #14795) course is Director Approved by OWWCO and 2.1 CEUs are awarded to participants that complete the course
b. JHSC Certification Training Part 2 is a minimum of two days in length and focuses on the concepts of hazard recognition, assessment and control, and evaluation of hazard controls; as applicable to relevant hazards in your workplace. Choose from general, forestry, mining, manufacturing, offices, printing and converting, or pulp and paper. The course is also available in French.
OWWCO Continuing Education Units (CEUs):
The WSN JHSC Certification Part 2 - General (OWWCO #14796) course is Director Approved by OWWCO and 1.4 - 2.1 CEUs are awarded to participants that complete the course.
c. JHSC Certification Refresher training is for members granted certification status after March 1, 2016. These members require one day of refresher training every three years to retain their certified status. An exemption for an active member allows the refresher period to be extended, one time only, to six years, in order to maintain certification status. This course is also available in French.

3. Learning continuity 

Parts 1 and 2 of training must be completed within twelve months of each other. If Part 2 Certification is not taken within the twelve months, a repeat of Part One Certification will be required. Refresher training must be taken within three years of completion of Certification Parts 1 and 2.

Extension requests:

A certified committee member is eligible to apply for a one-time exemption if they cannot complete a JHSC Refresher course within three years. The exemption form can be accessed on the Ministry of Labour, Immigration, Training and Skills Development website

Before starting your application:

Your request must be approved by the Chief Prevention Office before your certification expires. Your request will be reviewed by Ministry staff and processed within 10 business days.