Joint Health and Safety Committee certification training for Offices and Manufacturing

Tuesday, January 03, 2017

New Ministry of Labour-approved JHSC Part 2 training now available

Participants attending a health and safety training courseAs of January 2017, two new Joint Health and Safety Committee (JHSC) certification training options are available at Workplace Safety North (WSN) for Office and Manufacturing sectors. 

“As an approved provider of JHSC certification training, Workplace Safety North is able to offer a wider variety of options,” says John Levesque, Acting Director, WSN Program and Product Development. “For northern Ontario, these added courses for the Offices and Manufacturing sectors will help make this legislated training more accessible to northern businesses. 

“It’s important for Ontario workers and employers to have specific health and safety information as it applies to their particular industry, and that they can access high quality interactive training programs through Ministry of Labour-approved providers,” says Levesque.

JHSC Certification Training Part 1 

This training is a minimum three days in length and includes such topics as occupational health and safety law, rights, duties and responsibilities of the workplace parties, along with duties and responsibilities of JHSC members.

JHSC Certification Training Part 2

This training is a minimum of two days in length and focuses on the concepts of hazard recognition, assessment and control, and evaluation of hazard controls; as applicable to relevant hazards in your workplace.

Sector-specific course options include: ForestryMiningOfficesManufacturingPrinting and Converting, and Pulp and Paper.

Learning continuity

Parts 1 and 2 of training must be completed within six months of each other; a one-time application for extension due to extenuating circumstances is available through the MOL.

JHSC is legally mandated in Ontario

Under the Occupational Health and Safety Act in Ontario, most workplaces with 20 or more employees must have a Joint Health and Safety Committee (JHSC), with at least one committee member representing workers, and one committee member representing the employer, and each must possess JHSC certification. This is not a new requirement; however there are changes to what the certification process looks like.

Under the new 2016 standard, there are three JHSC Certification Courses: Part 1, Part 2 and Refresher training. JHSC members granted certification status after March 1, 2016, require one day of Refresher training every three years to retain their certified status. An exemption for an active member allows the refresher period to be extended, one time only, to six years, in order to maintain certification status.

“The internal responsibility system or ‘IRS’ is the foundation of Ontario’s approach to workplace health and safety,” says Levesque, “and it’s built on the principle that workplace parties share responsibility for occupational health and safety according to their ability to influence it. Both employees and employers work together to recognize and control hazards in their workplace to achieve optimum health and safety performance. These courses help promote a strong IRS in Ontario workplaces.”

For more information, contact


A Guide for Joint Health and Safety Committees and Representatives in the Workplace - Ministry of Labour

JHSC Certification Training